State in Actor Model

I just read this blog post, “An Introduction to the Actor Model” at
http://blog.goodbot.co/an-introduction-to-the-actor-model/
I seem to be missing something basic. I am just beginning to learn elixir and functional programming, so perhaps it is just my lack of understanding at work.

Two questions:

1. if we have an actor as described in this blog post that calculates the sum of all numbers and stores that in a private state, then crashes and is restarted by its supervisor, what happens to that stored private state? Is it lost? Should this state be stored somewhere else? A database?

2. Is this concept of stored private state a poor way of doing this calculation? It seems to go against the idea of immutability, and referential transparency, or pure functions. How would you implement a calculator of the sum of all numbers?

3 Likes

Ill have a go on your first question: Yes. The state is lost; that is why you need to consider what kind of state you are dealing with. We can categorise state in three categories: “Not important”, Static/Configuration, and dynamic.

“Not important” state are intermediate calculations, like storing a stack that is being build by another process. It is not the end of the world if we lose this calculation as the owner (the other process) most likely died as well, and the state will get rebuild when that process is restarted.

Static/Configuration, if the state is just some network address to a remote server we don’t have to do much to recalculate the state. Just restart the process and rebuild the state from the initialisation data provided by the supervisor.