Stories of success or despair when foregoing typespecs in Elixir/Erlang

I was wondering if there is anyone here who either maintains or has any experiencing with a large Elixir/Erlang project in production that does not use typespecs.

I’m not looking for a general discussion on the merits of typing! I’m also not looking for any direct advice on whether I should use them or not (I get plenty of that as it is)—I’m just asking for any stories of those who have forgone their use, good or bad, specifically in Elixir/Erlang (I have plenty of experience with large, untyped projects in other languages).

Personally, I have used typed languages before (though never in production). I understand and have seen some of the benefits, and I’ve done a lot of reading on the subject. Yet, I still really enjoy (and mostly prefer) writing in dynamic languages. I was excited to learn that Elixir is dynamic only to realize the community is seemingly very pro typespec, and that’s totally cool!!! I’m just wondering if there is also faction that is having some untyped success …or some untyped failures.

Once again, I’m not looking for a debate here! I’m looking for stories and to get a feel for the community as I’m new here.

Also, maybe someone could point me toward an open source project that is untyped? I would be interested to see how the style might differ.

Thank you! :cowboy_hat_face:

4 Likes

Here’s an open source Elixir project with no typespecs: norm.

The author is a prominent member of the Elixir community who is pretty vocal about not being a fan of at least Dializer. So you might hunt around in his projects for other examples.

I want to say this much: types are optional in Elixir. Period. You are not wrong if you want to use Elixir without types. That’s what optional means. Program how you want to program.

10 Likes