"Timebox" the lifespan of a Process + lookup by "name"

In a Phoenix application, I’m trying to create a system to make it easy for an Apple TV app to authenticate without having to enter a username/password with the TV remote.
The idea is that the TV app shows a unique code which you can then enter on an authenticated web page on your phone or browser.
This is similar to the “Easy Auth” series on NSScreencast.com and how you can login to the Youtube Apple TV app (https://youtube.com/activate).

An activation code should expire after a certain amount of time.

I was thinking that instead of storing the active codes in Redis or another db, an active activation code could be modeled as a Process (holding the activation code and some extra properties like the device id) that destroys itself after a certain timeout.

I’m really new to the platform so I’m wondering if this is the right approach, and what the best way to implement this would be.

I’ve toyed around with GenServer and Agent, but I’m struggling to get anything working.
Some things I ran into:

• What version of start_link to use, and which arguments to give it
  • How to “find” a process based on the activation_code
  • How to avoid using atoms as Process names to avoid running into the atom limit

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

–Tim

1 Like

It’s very common for newcomers to Erlang/Elixir to see processes and all of their neat properties and potential, and want to use that to model everything they can. It takes time to learn when that instinct is on the right track.

https://www.theerlangelist.com/article/spawn_or_not