Typewriting effect in liveview for streamed text

I’m new to Elixir and the Elixir forum. I hope my question is clear and I post it on the correct topic!

I’m working on a webchat implementation using Phoenix. Whenever a message comes in, my app sends a post request to another backend server, which will send a response containing text in a stream. Currently, I’m assigning new text to the socket at the moment the text comes in. This way, the text appears in my liveview at (close to) the same pace as my backend serves streams the text.

I want to implement some buffer so I can dictate, in my Elixir app, the maximum rate at which text appears in my liveview, effectively creating a typewriting effect. I’m not sure how to do this using Elixir/Phoenix.

Does anyone know how to do this?

For a typewriter effect I assume you want each character to appear after the other with some delay. So you’d first have to decide how you want to do that

1. CSS (animation)
  2. JS
  3. on the server

For (3) you’d need to create a timer when you got new text in the buffer, handle the msg of the timer in a handle_info of the LV and there

• remove the first char from the buffer
  • add it to the text to display
  • continue that until buffer is empty
  • restart if new text in the buffer.

Thanks for your response!

I’m looking for something like (3). Is this also possible with something like a push queue? Where I would broadcasting to a pubsub-topic, but then this topic has a configurable dispatch rate. This would then publish it to a listener, that assigns the text to a socket, but at a maximum rate. As far as I know, this is not possible with the phoenix pubsub system.

Maybe you can benefit from @seanmor5 implementation here: Streaming GPT-3 Responses with Elixir and LiveView – Sean Moriarity

It’s similar to what you’re looking for.

1 Like