Updating controller test for JSON API

I’m a noob and am currently creating a little test project: a read-only API and CRUD admin pages. Somewhere along the line a controller test started failing, which I think is because I added attributes other than the ID of the model to the API JSON output.

The API controller test:

test "shows chosen resource", %{conn: conn} do
    material = Repo.insert! %Material{}
    conn = get conn, api_material_path(conn, :show, material)
    assert json_response(conn, 200)["data"] == %{"id" => material.id}
  end

The test failing:

1) test shows chosen resource (AppName.Api.MaterialControllerTest)
     test/controllers/api/material_controller_test.exs:18
     Assertion with == failed
     code: json_response(conn, 200)["data"] == {}
     lhs:  %{"id" => 28, "name" => nil, "price_sq_m" => nil}
     rhs:  {}
     stacktrace:
       test/controllers/api/material_controller_test.exs:21: (test)

The relevant view function:

def render("material.json", %{material: material}) do
    material
    |> Map.take([:id, :price_sq_m, :name])
  end

If I change the test’s assert to compare against %{"id" => material.id, "name" => material.name, "price_sq_m" => material.price_sq_m} it passes.

I’ve not worked with tests before. Is updating the test in this manner a reasonable means of getting it to pass, or is there a better/easier/more robust way? Thanks.

1 Like

Maybe…

assert json_response(conn, 200)["data"]["id"] === material.id

or with Map.equal?/2 and Map.from_struct/1

result = json_response(conn, 200)["data"]
assert Map.equal?(result, Map.from_struct(material))

:grey_question: