Updating Eco associations

Hello! I am new to the Elixir world and I’d appreciate some help to understand how associations work.
Scenario:

defmodule Pokemon.Trainer do
    schema "trainers" do
        # fields
        has_many :pokemons, on_replace: :nilify
        has_many :badges, on_replace: :nilify
        has_one :hometown, on_replace: :nilify
    end

def changeset(trainer, attrs) do
    # regular cast and validations
    |> cast_assoc(:pokemons)
    |> cast_assoc(:badges)
    |> cast_assoc(:hometown)
  end
end

At some point I’ll get a JSON with all the nested information.
If the information of any child (ex: Pokemon level) changes, I want to perform an update. Otherwise, do nothing.

# in a service
def check_trainer_data([trainer | trainers]) do
# after fetching JSON, decoding, etc
    pkmtrainer = %{
      name: trainer["name"],
      locale: trainer["locale"],
      online_trainer_id: trainer["online_id"],
      pokemons: Pokemon.PokemonParseService(trainer), #returns the list of pokemons
      badges: Pokemon.BadgeParseService(trainer), #returns the list of badges
      hometown: Pokemon.HometownParseService(trainer), #returns hometown
    }

case Repo.get_by(Trainer, online_trainer_id: trainer["online_id]) do
    nil -> # creates a trainer; cast_assoc worked
    a_trainer -> 
      a_trainer
      |> Repo.preload([:pokemon, : badges, :hometown])
     |> Trainer.changeset(pkmtrainer)
     # here is my question ; attempts inserted here
     |> Repo.update()
end

In order to create or update the associated data, it looks like I could use put_assoc.

1. Attempt 1: Ecto.Changeset.put_assoc(:pokemons, Pokemon.PokemonParseService(trainer, a_trainer))
    This ParseService returns the list of pokemons for a specific JSON and associated the id of the persisted trainer. It works, but I noticed it will update the children structure (pokemons) every time, even if there are no changes. Is this expected?