What are Elixir's "target domains"?

Hey all,

I was reading through the Rust website and I noticed they had a section called “Build it in Rust”, which calls out specific “target domains” where Rust shines:

• command line apps
  • WebAssembly libraries
  • network services
  • programs on low-level/embedded devices

Yes, I understand this list came out in 2018, and people are using Rust to build many things outside these domains. But that section gave me the impression that “Rust is the best choice for command-line apps.” If I’m new to programming and I want to build command-line apps, I’d probably choose to learn Rust.

My question/thought exercise is: which domains would go in the “Build it in Elixir” section on elixir-lang.org? In other words, if I knew every modern programming language equally well, which types of projects would I choose Elixir for?

7 Likes

Applications that does networking, any kind, and require high availability and scalability while not requiring ultra-high performance. So web servers, telecommunication, purchases management, banking, distributed network management, multimedia streaming.

5 Likes

Resilient apps that don’t crash. Apps that stay responsive under heavy load. Those are afterthoughts in most other languages, but they’re core to the original design decisions of BEAM.

12 Likes

General web applications, healthcare, telecom + messaging, gambling, managing a fleet of embedded devices, anything that needs soft realtime information updates (analytics, cars/planes moving on a map, collaborative document editing).

7 Likes

Thanks for the replies! I’d agree that web servers and are a great use case. I wish the story around deploying these servers to your own infrastructure (i.e. not Gigalixir, Render, Heroku) was a bit better, but I’m sure people are working on that.

Communication tools and analytics dashboards are good shouts, too.

Which problems do you have with that?

1 Like