What would be the best/fastest way to access this data?

Hi,
Elixir and Phoenix newbie here… I’m building a test project where I have the list of countries and currencies. I’ve built a form where people can choose the country and I want the currency to be selected automatically based on the selected country. I would like to know, what would be the best way to structure the data for countries and currencies?

[
      {"Australia", "AUD"},
      {"Austria", "EUR"},
      {"Canada", "CAD"},
      {"United States", "USD"}
]
[
      %{:name => "Australia", :currency => "AUD"},
      %{:name => "Austria", :currency => "EUR"},
      %{:name => "Canada", :currency => "CAD"},
      %{:name => "United States", :currency => "USD"},
]

Should I use list of tupples, list of maps or maybe something else? This list should be available as a dropdown inside the form.

Tuples probably would be the best there as it would use the least space.

2 Likes

Tuples are good, but for quick search I would prefer a map of tuples, with the key being the search key…

If You have a list, it will take longer to search when toggling a field from the value of another field.

2 Likes

If there is anything I learned over the years of optimization: never make assumptions, first measure, then decide. You should be able to write a little program with a decent data set and run some tests to decide for yourself which kind of data structure best matches your problem.

1 Like

This sounds interesting, could you please give me an example? I’m a beginner at Elixir so this is all new and a little bit confusing to me.

Enum.group_by can help You turn a list into a map.

But for small data it might not be worth it.

2 Likes

I’ve played with it a bit and here’s what I came with;

countries = 
%{
      "Australia" => "AUD",
      "Austria" => "EUR",
      "Canada" => "CAD",
      "United States" => "USD"
}

To list all the countries in the select box all I have to do now is:

Map.keys(countries)