WhatsApp FreeBSD (or not) Packer Image

Hey there,

I wondering if WhatsApp folks or some of you have had some Packer images that you use in your production clusters.

Can you give more context on your question? And I might be ignorant here but what has this to do with Erlang at all?

I am referring to https://www.packer.io/ tool

My intention is to create/use some OS Image that is preconfigured and optimize to run Erlang VM.

That way I could use that OS Image as the baseline for the clustering and tweak things if I need to, but at least it is starting from something. Personally, I am not that good at infrastructure things and OS stuff, so it would be super helpful.

Does that make sense?

2 Likes

Iā€™m not sure if that pairs well with using FreeBSD. Things will eventually go wrong somewhere and if you donā€™t know a lot (yet), then Iā€™d optimize for the most external knowledge available. In the server world this likely means using ubuntu.

1 Like

Like that idea, that is why I put (or not) in the title since I am interested in starting the conversation about it and hopefully end up with some shared resources that we could collaborate on

1 Like

I think it pairs very well with FreeBSD. I use it for my personal projects and have never touched Linux at all. The idea of having to finding out which linux distribution I should take, packages I should installā€¦ is keeping me from using linux. FreeBSD is very simple, well documented and battle proofed. People on this Forum are wondering why Elixir and Erlang are not adopted more widely despite hugely successfull companies like WhatsApp are or were using it. Iā€™m wondering the same about FreeBSD.

2 Likes

Even 1 hour ago I was thinking what could be the most stripped OS I could run Elixir on, thus I am really interest in seeing were this discussions goes :slight_smile: