How to use Absinthe import_sdl and hydrate functions

Hi, I’m new to Elixir and trying to probe the GraphQL things. I’d like to understand how to use the import_sdl macro with the hydrate function to match resolvers to the imported schema. My sample setup looks like this:

SDL File

type Person {
    lastName: String!
    firstName: String!
    id: String!
    phoneNumbers: [String]
}

type Query {
    getPersonById(id: String!): Person
    getPeople: [Person]!
}

defmodule GqlHydrateWeb.Schema do
  @moduledoc false

use Absinthe.Schema.Notation

import_sdl path: "assets/sdl/sample-schema.graphql"

# Where/how do I call the hydrate function provided with the resolver? Or is that defined here?

end

Resolver File

defmodule GqlHydrateWeb.Resolvers.GetPeople do

def resolve_get_people(a,b,c) do
    %{
    lastName: 'Smith',
    firstName: 'Joe',
    id: '9ap8sodh'
    }

end

# Adapted from the Absinthe Docs
  def hydratePeople(%{identifier: :getPeople}, [%{identifier: :query} | _]) do
    {:resolve, &__MODULE__.resolve_get_people/3}
  end

end

I can write the hydrate function, but I don’t quite know how to integrate that into the schema building process so that this is called within the right context. Is there a sample somewhere that I can look at to see how this pattern can be used?

Your hydate function doesn’t look like ours, so maybe the docs are suggesting a different approach, but our code looks something like this:

@moduledoc false

def hydrate(%Absinthe.Blueprint{}, _) do
    %{query: %{get_people: [resolve: &GqlHydrateWeb.Resolvers.GetPeople.resolve_get_people/2]}}
  end

def hydrate(_node, _ancestors), do: []

end
1 Like

@mayel 's code here looks right to me, I’d be curious about where the docs are that @RoboZoom is following.

1 Like