Which DB do you use with Elixir/Erlang in write-heavy apps (no update)?

I know that a couple of nosql dbs such as Cassandra or Couchbase work fine for write-heavy applications, but what about mnesia bag type disk_copies? Does it suit, despite of the table size limit?

5 Likes

It depends upon what sort of data you’re looking to store and how you’re wanting to store it. If you can get away with using a key-value database (such as Redis), then that would most likely be your most performant option (not to mention the nice simplicity of the data model makes it pleasurable to work with). Otherwise, I’ve heard that ScyllaDB is suppose to be very performant, particularly for a column-family database (it aims to basically be a high performance version of Cassandra).

I can’t speak for mnesia though, since I have no experience with it.

4 Likes

Thanks for reply @tpunt. I’m looking for a data, where primary key can be non-unique (key-value or column db), so I can fetch a batch of records using that primary key. Also it should be fast on writes. Probably the db would be CP.
Most likely the in-memory db would be too expensive. Is there any Elixir or Erlang client for Scylla?
I’ve also heard about RocksDB and that it’s designed to work with SSD.

1 Like

That doesn’t sound like a PK, but rather just some sort of grouping value.

What’s CP?

Redis doesn’t keep the whole database in memory. It snapshots to disc periodically (I expect other key-value data stores to do the same too).

Good question - I’m not sure if there is. A quick Google search would suggest not.

That looks like an interesting alternative, and it looks like there are clients for it in Erlang too.

Our blog post about databases