2) ElixirConf 2017: My Journey from Go to Elixir - Veronica Lopez

I really like the idea of discussing one Elixirconf talk each day and since @brightball hasn’t posted the second talk I’ll post it.

ElixirConf 2017: My Journey from Go to Elixir - Veronica Lopez

Go and Elixir are powerful and popular tools with a similar goal, but with a different approach. As a seasoned Go developer, I used to look at Elixir from a safe distance, till its fault tolerance capabilities and Phoenix made it impossible to ignore. This talk will describe how Elixir works compared to Go, beyond simple performance benchmarking or syntax preferences, instead focusing on tooling, development environment, and the BEAM internals (compared to the CSP model) that make Elixir shine as a language to build elegant and strong distributed systems.

Previous days thread:

4 Likes

Thanks for picking up the slack.

1 Like

No problem, I’d just like to see the discussion continue :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Good talk. Wasn’t what I was expecting, but good to hear her perspective.

Veronica touched very briefly on a key metric/indicator when she mentioned she had started a side web project in Go but never completed it vs being able to complete it quickly in Elixir/Phoenix. Frankly, I wish 80% of her talk reflected why this was the case.

I am possibly discovering this the hard way, coding mostly Go, I have been flirting with Elixir on and off for the past 3 years to gauge developer velocity when crafting web applications.

I love Go and it will be a tool I reach for often, our current system is Kubernetes, Docker, gRPC, Protobufs and NSQ (message queue) to tie it all together. Thats a lot of parts and a lot of work to get going. Not to mention we’ve made our own view and database libraries, which is great now, but took a lot of time and adds up to a bit of work to onboard a new developer.