32-bit Linux docker template to run phoenix applicaiton

Over there at https://fly.io they are offering 256MB VM for free. 256MB of memory is not much; and I want to make every MB count. One way I know to reduce memory usage is to run the whole stack in 32 bit. Does anyone have a good dockerfile that is on 32 bit Linux and work well with Elixir/Phoenix? Thanks a lot.

4 Likes

Is the official Elixir image not doing the job?

Theoretically it should work; however I am a complete docker newbie so I’d like to know other’s experience. There is usually some hidden trap for running 32 bit linux these days. For example, 32 bit linux is not a supported node.js arch anymore.

Just an FYI, the moment I went from erlang 23.x to 24.x I couldn’t compile my elixir app unless I went to a 2GB digital ocean instance(from 1GB).

I still can; the trick is to use a swapfile. In fact, I compile both erlang and elixir in my 1GB VPS (64-bit linux)
There is no point to run 64 bit in 1GB and below; but sadly most hosting companies don’t offer the option anymore. I hope by using docker I can regain the full control.

1 Like

Cool, thanks for the swap file tip.

Just to make sure: you’re looking for 32-bit x86, not ARM, correct?

1 Like

Would ARM 64 consume less RAM compared to x86 32 and 64-bit architectures?

Yes, 32 bit x86 linux.

I doubt it. Moving from 32-bit to 64-bit doubles your memory requirements for storing pointers which 99.99% of all projects ever use – on one level or another.

1 Like

Shout out to the people working for fly.io. Docker actually works with a 32-bit image and can build one as such:

---> [Warning] The requested image's platform (linux/386) does not match the detected host platform (linux/amd64) and no specific platform was requested
 ---> Running in 72b316f7113c
Removing intermediate container 72b316f7113c
 ---> a32222658cc2
Successfully built a32222658cc2

However, flyctl does not:

Step 9/12 : COPY --chown=nobody:root _build/prod/rel ./