50 tiles of a 100x100 grid for phoenix powered game

I am attempting to create an online phaserJS browser game and I want to split up my players into tiles so that each tile in the game can be an elixir process. Each tile will have a 100x100 2D grid coordination (x,y) that I want to store in a genserver and use a superviser to move my players around tiles. I want to store some metadata in each coordinate position such as cellType and tileSprite and if a player is located on that tile so that i can render the game world and players location.

I’m wondering if this is a good architecture to build ontop of. Im essentially trying to build a sprite open world game. Its super ambitious and I’m new to elixir but from my research it seems like a good fit for what I am trying to do but I don’t understand the nuances of the language. Hopefully that all made sense.

2 Likes

Seems like an interesting idea, but I wonder what the benefit of a process per tile would be. What would make a tile a good boundary for a process?

I have to imagine that players can easily move between tiles, so you’ll get an overhead there. It may make more sense to have a process per game/view and each player be a process. And keep those under a supervisor, or maybe each game is a single process, with a supervisor managing the players?

There are a ton of designs you could come up with, and I think the game play/interaction should really drive the design pattern you use.

Think of what would make logical sense as far as passing messages between the different processes, and what makes sense for a supervision tree.