Adding Semantic UI to Phoenix v1.4 with Webpack

I am a newbie to Phoenix, Elixir, and Semantic.

I’m having an issue finding an example of how to add Semantic UI to Phoenix in the newest version 1.4.3 where it seems the file structure has changed a little and Webpack is now used instead of Brunch for asset generation. Tutorials on how to integrate Semantic with Phoenix date before the new version release and I’m unsure of where to put certain folders/files.

I’ve looked at these sites:

I’ve been testing out installing Semantic into my project and I get a semantic folder, semantic.json file, and my package-lock.json and package.json files get updated.

I moved the semantic folder which contains folders src and tasks into my assets/static folder and have updated my endpoint.ex file to contain the following:

plug Plug.Static,
    at: "/",
    gzip: false,
    only: ~w(css fonts images js favicon.ico robots.txt semantic)

Unsure of the next steps.

Hi, there are a lot of ways to integrate a third-party library into Phoenix, but you don’t need to modify endpoint.ex or move the files of Semantic UI from node_modules to assets.

The easiest way is adding Semantic UI to app.js:

import 'semantic-ui';

or just add a reference to Semantic UI inside the entry object of Webpack’s configuration.

entry: {
  semantic: ['semantic-ui'],
  // ...
}

another option is to use Semantic UI’s CDN, you just need to add the CDN to app.html.eex.

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="semantic/dist/semantic.min.css">
<script
  src="https://code.jquery.com/jquery-3.1.1.min.js"
  integrity="sha256-hVVnYaiADRTO2PzUGmuLJr8BLUSjGIZsDYGmIJLv2b8="
  crossorigin="anonymous"></script>
<script src="semantic/dist/semantic.min.js"></script>

I’ve never used Semantic UI, but the process is pretty much the same for every dependency you want to include. In case that Webpack can’t find the dependency specified, you may want to use a relative path to the dist folder.