Advantages of Stateful Websockets?

Apart from some dabbling a while ago, I am new to web sockets.

A naive question: WebSockets / Phoenix channels /can/ be stateful - but is there any particular advantage to that?

Must they be stateful?

I suppose the option is there, mainly for performance…

Not just performance at all, but it means a lot of things:

• No needing to re-setup and tear down a TCP connection on every access.
  • Server can push data to the client without the client needing to poll, thus no needless waiting between polling intervals.
  • Significantly smaller packets since only the ‘real’ data is sent (plus a couple of bytes of overhead, compared to a couple of kilobytes for HTTP).

Among a lot more. :slight_smile:

In essence, ‘why would you use TCP over a (imagine a very bloated form of) UDP’, similar area. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes true.

I suppose, I was thinking more along the lines of -

Web sockets do statefulness, but should you necessarily store more application state in the connection?

Just because you can, doesn’t mean you necessarily should(?)

I see a lot of examples, which do this.

Obviously I understand there will be cases when this is necessary, but also I can imagine too much statefulness can lead to problems also…

In general…yes. Without state in the application/websocket you are forced to push data out to other systems to do something with it. Whether that is a database of some type or an API/relay it creates additional overhead for every bit of data sent back and forth. It also means that in order to grow an application like that, those central datastore or relays have to be grown as well.

One of the trends you see in JS frontends is a push to hold more and more state in the browser largely because doing the same thing on the server just isn’t possible/trustworthy in “most” languages without involving another datastore.

2 Likes

One of the trends you see in JS frontends is a push to hold more and more state in the browser