Advice on how to avoid Go-like error handling patterns in Elixir?

Hi all! I’m fairly new to Elixir. I’ve read a book or two, but am just getting into using the language in practice. I recently needed to write a simple function to update a key in a JSON file. However, I found myself running into a lot of repetitive Go-esque error checking. I’m new to functional programming and I was wondering if there is a more idomatic way to handle this type of situation, or just a way to improve it. I’m not a fan of this style as it is because it’s a huge block of ever-indenting lines like old JavaScript. Here is a slimmed down example I came up with:

defmodule Test do
  @doc """
  Inserts the given JSON into the `data` field of `file`.
  """
  def insert(file, data) do
    # Read the contents of the file
    case File.read(file) do
      {:ok, content} -> 

# Decode the file to JSON
        case Poison.decode(content) do
          {:ok, decoded_content} ->

# Encode the given data to JSON
            case Poison.encode(data) do
              {:ok, encoded_data} ->

# Prepare the updated data for insertion
                final_data = Map.update(decoded_content, "data", encoded_data, fn _ -> encoded_data end)

# Encode the updated data
                  case Poison.encode(final_data) do
                    {:ok, encoded_final_data} ->

# Write the updated data to the file
                      case File.write(file, encoded_final_data) do
                        :ok -> IO.puts "Successfully updated file!"
                        {:error, reason} -> IO.puts "Could not write to file because #{reason}!"
                      end
                    {:error, {:invalid, reason}} -> IO.puts "Could not encode updated JSON because #{reason}!"
                  end

{:error, {:invalid, reason}} -> IO.puts "Could not encode given JSON because #{reason}!"
            end

{:error, :invalid} -> IO.puts "Could not parse file to JSON!"