Alias vs import performance

Hello everyone. I’m pretty new to Elixir. I have question about alias and import usage. Does using import makes impact on app performance because of importing all of the code into module? When should I use import and when alias? I didn’t find any good answer for this question.

Thanks in advance.

5 Likes

import does not “import” the code into the module’s .beam. All calls are resolved at compile time and both alias qualified calls and imported calls count as remote calls. It’s mostly a convenience for the human reader of your code.

8 Likes

After reading this about upgrading to Phoenix 1.4:

A Routes alias has been added to app_web.ex for view and controller blocks in favor over the previously imported AppWeb.Router.Helpers .

The new Routes alias makes it clearer where page_path/page_url and friends exist and removes compile-time dependencies across your web stack.

Should we consider that there is at least a compile-time performance matter between alias and import ?

I found this topic because I was wondering if I will import back the router helpers in my phoenix project as before 1.4 version

1 Like

There absolutely is a cost to using import, because it needs to require the selected module as part of its functionality. require does cause a compile time dependency, which means both modules can no longer be compiled in parallel, but need to be compiled one after the other. The upside is that you can check at compile time if certain functions are actually defined in the external module, what you can’t do otherwise. Having a compile time dependency on a module means the current module needs to be recompiled if the module it depends on changes. So for the router helpers it at least means with each route change the compiler will need to at least recompile all the view modules.

10 Likes

Thank you for this clarification. ^^