Alternate template engines

Hey,

I’ve been enjoying LiveView for an internal toy-project, but I’m looking to see if there are any alternative HTML rendering/templating engines.

I’ve found https://github.com/rstacruz/expug which would be ideal as pug is my go-to, but it hasn’t been updated in 2 years and has no LiveView support.

There is also https://github.com/slime-lang/slime but this looks like it has some outstanding major issues.

Anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

Regards.

4 Likes

I’ve been using slime for 2+ years and it’s great!

It takes a few minutes to get used to it, but once you do, the thought of typing all the HTML boilerplate seems barbaric :slight_smile:

Slime:

table.extra-wide
  tr
    th colspan=2 Name
    th Age

= for user <- @users do
    tr
      td= user.first_name
      td= user.last_name
      td= user.age

There’s even an eex to slime converter to get you started.

Edit: use phoenix_slime to use Slime with Phoenix.

4 Likes

Slime looks ideal but the LiveView is mentioned but not really documented anywhere, and the current implementation (which I couldn’t get to work) apparently doesn’t do incremental updates.

As great as the eex/leex implementations are, I just can’t bear writing raw html!

There is also Temple that is looking promising. I didn’t have the chance to use it yet, but I’m going to try it in my next project.

1 Like

I forgot about Temple when I posted this but Temple was my first choice when I started looking. There is currently an issue by the maintainer about implementing Live View, but it looks like they’ve not had the resources. I’d love o use Temple as the implementation as that’s keeping it even closer to raw Elixir.

I’ve looked at the current LiveView engine source code and it’s way above my Elixir skill level :man_shrugging:

Hey, if you’re still interested in using Expug, you can take a look at my forked repos (expug, phoenix_expug).