An implementation of Apriori algorithm and making it fast

Hi.
I want implement Apriori and Eclat’s algorithm that will working on a large item-set. I wrote Apriori’s code and it will work nice with a tiny testing transaction list but for main transaction list that have 25341 rows, it will be blocked and then crashed because of using data more than my RAM’s capacity!
For concurrency, I tried to use Actor model and spawn_link() that I think it is a wrong approach :thinking:.
So what can I do to optimize this code?
My codes repository
Apriori’s implementation
Transactions list
I can’t find good resources for this problem, so I post this topic.
I’m a newbie to Elixir’s community and want to learn this amazing language but now I don’t know Erlang or OTP totally, so if you can, help me with good details. Thanks.

1 Like

One big change from other languages is that lists are immutable linked lists, so some operations become very expensive and take time (and sometimes space!) proportional to the length of the list.

Some examples:

a = [1]
b = [2 | a]

Prepending to the beginning of a list is fast - it allocates a single new cons cell. Takes constant time.

a = [1]
b = [1] ++ [2]

Concatenating two lists is more expensive - all the cells in the left-hand argument to ++ need to be reallocated, taking time and space proportional to the size of that list.

a = [1,2,3]
b = hd(a)

This is efficient, since the head is the first cons cell. Takes constant time. Note that tl(a) is also efficient, since those are the SAME cons cells as in a.

a = [1,2,3]
b = List.at(a, -1)

in order to access “the end” of a list, all the cons cells need to to be walked. List.at will take time proportional to the size of the list.

You’ll need to modify your algorithm to avoid doing the inefficient kind of operations; for instance, popping from the end might instead be represented with a constant-time functional queue like Erlang’s :queue (docs)