Anonymous functions with multiple body

Hi guys, i’m new in the Elixir world, and i have to say, that i love it!
i’m having some problem to understand anonymous functions with multiple body.

Basically if i have a function like this

handle_result = fn
{:ok, result} → IO.puts “handling the result…”
{:error} → IO.puts “an error is occurred”
end

and then

some_result = 1
handle_result.({:ok, some_result})

“handling the result…”

to me is ok, i pass a tuple and if match i return the string.

The point is that to me is like i’m using a switch statement, or a sort of case statement, and if the value that i pass match a case, i print the string, so what’s the difference to use a function like this or
use a switch in other languages? and another thing is, how can i use multiple bodies to compare if two values are equal or not equal with operators like && == || using multiple bodies? cause everytime i try it cause me errors.

last thing that i don’t get is, the argument of the function is implicit? because usually if i do

fn a,b →
a == b
end

is clear, i pass two values and then i compare a to b, but i don’t get it this thing of multiple bodies with the tuples and pattern matching.

sorry guys, but i’m a lot confuse. :slight_smile:

thanks.

3 Likes

The point is that to me is like i’m using a switch statement, or a sort of case statement, and if the value that i pass match a case, i print the string, so what’s the difference to use a function like this or
use a switch in other languages?

Function clauses perform the control flow of switch statements (i.e. they allow branching on conditions) but they also bind values to variables at the same time. e.g. In the second line of:

handle_result = fn
  {:ok, result} -> IO.puts "handling the result..."
  {:error} -> IO.puts "an error is occurred"
end