Any downsides of using LiveView in big production apps?

I’m considering LiveView for a SaaS with a pretty big scope. I love the concept of LiveView and I see practically nothing but praise for it around here which is awesome, but would love to hear some contrarian views (if any), footguns, rough edges, or anything else worth keeping in mind for a large production app.

For example, one thing that gives me pause is the LiveComponent story as far as messaging goes - it seems like there could be some complexity there as far as getting events/data/etc. to components vs. the ease of which you can do it from LiveViews proper. I’m also going to need some pretty complex multi-step nested forms in the app, and I’m wondering how easy or difficult that will end up being to implement.

Anything else worth thinking about?

A tutorial on multi-step forms can be found here. You can probably find further resources on nested forms elsewhere to combine the teachings.
I have no experience with SaaS. However, I do like LiveView for developing large Web applications. An aspect that I would like to raise your attention on is the generated traffic. If you are not careful in the design, you may end up with a heavy implementation, traffic-wise. Of course, there are solution to improve this issue (compartmentalization, patches, JS interaction, etc.).
Another aspect might be the handling of memory at the server. However, this is an issue that I currently ignore. Certainly, it is addressable with the provided tools, e.g. streams.
Finally, I would like to mention that I have no experience with publicly deployed applications.
I guess more experienced users can provide you with further insights.

1 Like

Relevant recent discussion here.

1 Like