Any suggestion to promote Elixir in a company?

Background: I’m a backend engineer in a company in China and we use Ruby mostly for our API services. We have about 7 Ruby engineers and several backend engineers who are familiar with Go, Java, Python.

I love Elixir and want to promote it here. But the biggest problem is that it’s really hard to hire Elixir engineers later on(especially in China), which is bad for a company. And it’s hard to change the situation by myself. What I can do now may be teaching others Elixir(?). I prefer giving a series of talks about Elixir instead of just pasting some links. I don’t think anyone will care if I tell them to learn Elixir instead of teaching them by myself.

Any idea for the content of the talks? Any suggestion to promote Elixir in my(or other) company?

6 Likes

I think there’s nothing better than being able to solve the problems Ruby can’t solve (easily). If you od have use case where Ruby will struggle - and Elixir won’t - push for trying Elixir in that context. It can be part of API ,something simple. If you are able to show real engineering value - others will become interesed.

5 Likes

It will take your average Rails developer a matter of weeks to learn Phoenix and Elixir. I wouldn’t worry about hiring if you can hire Ruby devs and work with them for a few weeks to get them up to speed.

6 Likes

Say true :smiley:

My list:

1. Pattern matching
  2. Supervisors and fault-tolerant
  3. Elixir as Erlang BEAM language
  4. Quote others, so they will know that it’s not only your opinion :wink:
    ElixirDaze 2016 - Processing 2.7 million images with Elixir (vs Ruby) by David Padilla
  5. How to understand framework? Learn Phoenix! :smile: