Anyone at ElixirConf EU this year (18-19 April 2024)

Looks like the conference team have got a jam packed conference with lots of familiar faces in the speakers line up: https://www.elixirconf.eu

Speaking of familiar faces, it will be @NobbZ’s first year at the conference this year, if you see him say hi!

For those that attend, please also post your thoughts here - it might encourage someone to go to the next one! :smiley:

4 Likes

I arrived in Lisbon yesterday! This is my first time attending and I’m very excited. Many interesting topics and people I’ve only seen online until now.

6 Likes

Hopefully I will arrive at it as well, I want to shake hands with many great people I had the luck on connecting on this forum and not only!

Edit: Damn it is literally today, ah, maybe next year :frowning: .

3 Likes

:wave: I’m here, having a blast!

5 Likes

Ah you lucky son of a gun, I hope to meet you next year!!!

3 Likes

I had a nice first conference day yesterday, and am eager for the second!

I attended some nice and interesting talks. Some have been quite entertaining even. For the evening I found a group to join for dinner and a beer (or three).

Today I am much more open to “hallwaying”, and am planning to attend some event in a nearby park.

So if you are interested in having some discussion, feel free to just speak to me.

2 Likes

The most important question is: when is José’s keynote?

2 Likes

According to the agenda in the Whova app, it’s scheduled for 16:20

2 Likes

Second day was nice as well, even though I got struck by spontaneous tiredness after lunch and I just skipped 2 talks, sitting in the “chill out” area.

During the mini meetup in the park after the conference some very nice discussions arose.

In general it seems to me, the discussions with other attendees have been much more valuable to me than the talks (which still are valuable), and I find it interesting how different people have different take aways from the same talks!