Are Ecto embedded schemas useful without a database?

I am still new to elixir, so once in a while getting confused with the reasoning for basic stuff

Context
I am building a small service that is essentially a nice looking wrapper to an external API. It is somewhat similar to reading users, their organizations, orders, products via API and then presenting these nicely with whichever cool filters client wants (e.g. something like "find all products this user is expressed interest in).

I don’t even have any database, login happens via external system, everything is read and written from/to external API and several LiveViews + small contexts on top of Tesla-based REST client work very well there.

Data modeling
Building something without database is not very usual situation for me, so I naturally started with Ecto’s embedded schemas in style of:

defmodule MyCoolApp.User do
  embedded_schema do 
    field :first_name, :string
    field :last_name, :string
  end
end

But I noticed that I am not really using Ecto’s capabilities much. I don’t need query building (or I don’t understand how to convert them into REST params for Tesla conveniently), there are no real repos that could make transactions possible - I use these essentially as just a Map with properties.

Now I’ve got to a point where I’d want to link different objects (temporarily, just one live view execution probably) and with a simple map I could do things like linked_user = %{user | organization: org} while with embedded_schema I need to learn and use things like build_assoc and other association related things.

What’s the point of Ecto in databaseless app?
Once in a while I see mentions on the forum that embedded_schemas work well without the database, but can’t quite get a reasoning why.

• I am certainly missing something basic, so could you please, suggest some reasoning or at least pros and cons of living with Ecto schemas and without when there’s no real database behind?