Background job queues: When to use? When not to use? Which one to use?

Hello everyone,

I know we had quite some threads (read through lots of them) about background job processing but it remains a hotly debated topic and something especially people migrating over from other languages (especially the ones with a GIL like Ruby or Python) have questions about. A friendly company wanting to try out elixir just asked me whether or not they need a background job processing system and if yes which one, I couldn’t give them a great answer.
I thought I’d summarize my understanding, I’m not an expert by any means, and kick off some discussion. This is where you come in. I’d love all your input, especially if my understanding is correct and on what libraries/setups you might have used and recommend.

When to reach for a background job tool

“You don’t need background job processing in Elixir/Erlang” This is a sentiment I read a lot especially in the early days of this wonderful forum. I think it’s somewhat of a misunderstanding. No I don’t need background job processing systems just to achieve parallelism.

What can I easily do in parallel?

• I want to do n things in parallel and aggregate results, example: I want to get data from n different data sources (like recommendation engines) and then aggregate them - Task.async + Task.await = :green_heart:
  • I just want something to happen but don’t care when it finishes - like for instance image processing, some updated caching data…

In summary, probably tasks that likely don’t fail/can be retried immediately and can be done right now, and you can afford to not turn the system off while they are executing. I know hot code upgrades are a thing, but from my understanding if you don’t absolutely need them they’re discouraged for complexity reasons.

What probably needs some more advanced system?
(please correct me if any of these are easily done in just elixir/erlang)