Basics....Swapping content in Liveview when value is changed

Hello everyone, I’m new to Elixir, Phoenix, and Liveview so I’m hoping that this question isn’t too basic.

I have a Liveview that currently should show a different set of HTML based on an assign that I update on click:

<div>
    <div style="height: 70px; background-color: #00558c;">
            <div style="width: 95%; margin: auto; display: flex; flex-direction: row; justify-content: space-between">
            <div style="color: white; font-size: 30px; font-family: Arial; margin-top: 18px; font-weight: bold;">HL7 Visualizer</div>
            <label class="switch"><input type="checkbox" id="togBtn" class="<%= if @mode == :mode2 do %>checked <% end %>"><div class="slider round" phx-click="toggle"><!--ADDED HTML --><span  phx-click="message_list" class="on"><%= @mode %></span><span class="off"><%= @mode %></span><!--END--></div></label>

</div>
</div>
    <%= if @mode == :mode1 do %>
        <div style="margin-top: 30px">
            <%= for msg <- @raw_msg do %>
                <div style="margin-bottom: 10px; max-width: 95%; margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto; overflow-wrap: break-word; overflow-y: hidden;"><%= msg %></div>
            <% end %>
        </div>
    <% else %>
        <div class="font-mono bg-white rounded-lg shadow-xl w-full px-6 py-3">
            <%= for {seg, idx} <- Enum.with_index(@msg_list) do %>
            <div class="block border border-gray-250 rounded-sm px-4 py-2 whitespace-no-wrap"><%= Enum.at(seg, 0) %></div>
            <div id="seg"  phx-click="show-detail" style="margin-right: 0px !important" class="ml-5 mt-1 mr-0 flex flex-wrap"><%= for {field, idx} <- Enum.with_index(seg) do %>
                <%= if field == "" do %>
                    <span class="block border border-gray-250 rounded-sm px-1 py-2 whitespace-no-wrap "><%= field %></span>
                <%= else %>