Be carefull with what Javascript integrations you add into your Phoenix project

Professionally I am a Developer Advocate for Security and I would like to call the attention of all developers to not blindly trust in the Javascript they add to their Phoenix applications.

See this recent study:

Quotes:

According to research from Tala Security, techniques such as Magecart attacks, formjacking, cross-site scripting and credit card skimming are exploiting vulnerable JavaScript integrations running on 99% of the world’s top websites, and security effectiveness against JavaScript vulnerabilities is declining.

Keith Geraghty, solutions architect at Edgescan, said that Javascript is not the issue here, as it has “revolutionized the user experience on the web.
“When we refer to vendors, we are usually referring to talented programmers who have developed tools and solutions that, along with HTML and CSS, make up the backbone of the web,” he said. “Like with all plugins and solutions, organizations need to ensure that what they use is safe, up-to-date and falling under the same controls as their traditional patch management strategy.”

Craig Young, senior security researcher at Tripwire, said: “The situation with loading so many JavaScript libraries from so many different domains greatly amplifies the risk subdomain hijacking attacks pose to the internet at large. The problem is that each third-party domain supplying unauthenticated JavaScript presents an opportunity for a server compromise to serve malicious content to unsuspecting users unless the site operator has taken specific security precautions.”

So I am not advocating to not use Javascript, but to be really careful with what you include.

My mantra is that if is simply enough I may code it myself or copy the code to my project.