[Beginner] How do I compare characters correctly?

As you can see from the posted code I am quite new to Elixir but I figured this is the sort of thing people always have a hard time getting used to in a new language so it could be valuable to the community if someone would (over)explain what is happening here.

iex(4)> 'a' == 'b'
false
iex(5)> 'a' == 'a'    
true
iex(6)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x == 'a' end)
iex(20)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x == to_charlist 'a' end)
iex(21)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> to_charlist 'a' == x end)
iex(22)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> 'a' == x end)            
iex(23)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> 97 == x end) 
iex(24)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x == 97 end) 
iex(25)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x == byte_size 'a' end)
** (ArgumentError) argument error
             :erlang.byte_size('a')
    (stdlib) erl_eval.erl:670: :erl_eval.do_apply/6
    (stdlib) erl_eval.erl:470: :erl_eval.expr/5
    (elixir) lib/enum.ex:492: anonymous fn/3 in Enum.count/2
    (elixir) lib/enum.ex:2843: Enumerable.List.reduce/3
    (elixir) lib/enum.ex:491: Enum.count/2
iex(25)> strand = 'a'                                        
'a'
iex(26)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x == ^strand end)      
** (CompileError) iex:26: cannot use ^strand outside of match clauses
    (stdlib) lists.erl:1354: :lists.mapfoldl/3
    (stdlib) lists.erl:1355: :lists.mapfoldl/3
    (elixir) src/elixir_fn.erl:33: anonymous fn/3 in :elixir_fn.expand/3
iex(26)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> x = ^strand end) 
** (CompileError) iex:26: cannot use ^strand outside of match clauses
    (elixir) src/elixir_fn.erl:33: anonymous fn/3 in :elixir_fn.expand/3
    (stdlib) lists.erl:1239: :lists.map/2
    (elixir) src/elixir_fn.erl:36: :elixir_fn.expand/3
    (stdlib) lists.erl:1354: :lists.mapfoldl/3
iex(26)> Enum.count('abcaa', fn(x) -> ^strand = x end)
** (MatchError) no match of right hand side value: 97