Best practice for association changesets

I am an experienced dev, but pretty new to elixir. I keep finding myself going back and forth between a couple options for how to construct a changeset that will create a new record with one or more associations.

The following small ecto schema module presents the two options

defmodule MyProject.Quizzes.QuizQuestion do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

schema "quiz_questions" do
    belongs_to :quiz, MyProject.Quizzes.Quiz
    belongs_to :question, MyProject.Questions.Question

timestamps()
  end

@doc false
  def changeset(quiz_question, attrs) do
    quiz_question
    |> cast(attrs, [:quiz_id, :question_id])
    |> validate_required([:quiz_id, :question_id])
    |> foreign_key_constraint(:quiz_id)
    |> foreign_key_constraint(:question_id)
  end

def create(%MyProject.Quizzes.Quiz{} = quiz, %MyProject.Questions.Question{} = question) do
    %__MODULE__{}
    |> change()
    |> put_assoc(:quiz, quiz)
    |> put_assoc(:question, question)
    |> foreign_key_constraint(:quiz_id)
    |> foreign_key_constraint(:question_id)
  end
end

In this example I have three models: Quiz, Question, and a join table QuizQuestions that combines them. I have two functions in the module:

• change: this takes in an attrs map, casts the foreign key id, requires them, and adds foreign key constraints
  • create: takes in instances of the related schemas (Question and Quiz), uses put_assoc to build the association, then adds foreign key constraints

Both of these approaches let me create the new QuizQuestion struct that is Repo.insertable, but I still have some questions.

• Is one approach more idiomatic and why?
  • Should I prefer one case to the other?
  • What are the tradeoffs?
  • Is it bad practice to use structs defined in other core modules as arguments to functions (like I did in create when I accept Quiz and Question structs)?

I’m going to give you the less-than-entirely-helpful “it depends” :stuck_out_tongue: