Best practice for directory structure of a larger application?

Hey,

I am very new to the Elixir world, but doing software development for many years. The Elixir ecosystem looks very promising to me. Currently I am not sure how to structure a larger application in an optimal way. Let’s say I want to create a web shop application named “shop”, which is an API only (REST or GraphQL) application. I would structure it this way (disregarded Elixir):

• shop
    • customers
    • payment
      • paypal
      • stripe
        :
    • communication
      :

With Elixir (Phoenix) it would be?

• shop
    • lib
      • shop
        • customers
        • payment
          • paypal
          • stripe
        • communication
          :
      • shop_web (all the web/api stuff)
        :

But what about an Elixir structure like this:

• shop
    • lib
      • customers
      • payment
      • communication
      • api (all the web/api stuff)
        :

That would be more “natural” to me (for an API only application). Otherwise I would have repeated “shop” and all the code is split more or less in two main directories: “shop” and “shop_web”

Another question: Is it uncommon to have the application name in the module identifier/path? So it should not be “Shop.Payment.Paypal”, but just “Payment.Paypal”. Right?

How should the Ecto repo modules be named? “Payment.Paypal.Repo”? Or “Payment.Paypal.DB”? Should the Repo be seperated from related business logic?

Sorry for mixing the topics a little bit, but for me it’s somehow connected :wink:

2 Likes

@cvh23 You really need to learn lots of Phoenix stuff. Many of your questions are from someone who never tried them - especially Repo naming which is included in every new phoenix project (mix phx.new generator). Please read official Phoenix documentation. After your first Phoenix app if your code would be really big you may consider refactoring your app into umbrella app.

Some useful resources:
https://hexdocs.pm/phoenix/