Best practice integrating Phoenix with existing database

I’m rather new to elixir and phoneix so the answer might be obvious. All the phoenix examples I have seen seems to assume a totally new project where the db migrations etc is handled by phoenix. I have a project running node which works well so I have no need to replace it all. But my idea was using phoneix for building the admin system for this project (and keeping node + svelte for the client facing part).

What is the best practice for doing that? Just do everything like normal but skip the migrating part? Any possibility to “introspect” the db in order to generate the different routes etc needed?

2 Likes

Hello and welcome,

You can skip migrations, but You need to write corresponding schemas and contextes.

Then write the UI. Routes depends if You choose normal controllers, or liveview.

Following to see some answers since I’m just behind you in terms of getting things up and running, but yes I have noticed this same issue. Actually it’s not even just Phoenix related; almost any framework these days that includes migrations just assumes you’ll be using it to manage the app from soup to nuts. I have no data to back this up, but I suspect a good bit of systems are more like the ones you describe.

Unless the app is very very simple, I don’t see how you could infer what routes should exist from the structure of the database alone. You could maybe generate some of the ecto schemas from database introspection, but routing is a matter of mapping external inputs through business logic, to the database. The database won’t tell you what inputs to expect or how to match them with business logic.

3 Likes

I created the migration files that correspond to the existing database tables. However, I modify the schema_migrations table by hand in the production database to select which migrations I want to be applied.