Best way to handle 10s or 100s of thousands of API requests?

Hello, everyone!
I have an Elixir Phoenix 1.7 app deployed to fly.io. I am receiving 10,000+ API calls at a time that I need to receive, acknowledge as quickly as possible, then do a few API calls of my own, receive the information back, do something with it, and eventually report a status for each of the incoming API requests. I ran out of memory, and OK, I know how to pay more and add memory…
But now I’m wondering about the best way to handle this. I’m only able to receive each item one at a time, so I really don’t think I have any sort of context to be able to batch calls. I’m wondering if ETS is a good solution for tracking the status of each API call, or should I look into setting up a queue? This obviously is not my expertise, and I’m new to Elixir and Phoenix on top of that.
I would greatly appreciate insights from people who know better and have more experience.
Thank you so much!

1 Like

What mandates this? Are you positive this is the case?

The first step that comes to mind is determining whether data loss is acceptable.

While ETS is highly efficient, it does so by storing data in-memory meaning data could be lost. If data loss isn’t acceptable, then look into disc ETS aka DETS, Mnmesia which uses DETS, or persisting to a database.

On another note, to avoid rate limiting when making those subsequent API calls, take a look GenStage and Broadway which uses GenStage to add a backpressure mechanism.

2 Likes

I think so, yes.
It’s an integration with a vendor that basically sends one row at a time.
So, I have no idea if there is only one coming or half a million, if that makes sense.

@codeanpeace Thanks for this point. Data loss is not acceptable, so thanks for adding clarity.

Do you have to respond back with status within the same API request? Or is that done async later?

Good clarification. I ack the request ASAP, then return status elsewhere.

1 Like