Best way to wrap Absinthe into Ecto transactions?

I’m scratching my head to try to understand what is the best way to wrap an graphql query (made with Absinthe) into an Ecto transaction.

Since the user may potentially query the entire tree, accessing different objects that may reside into different tables, to have a consistent response the transaction is the way to obtain it.

Think about users and posts: what happens if another query mutates the posts while the graphql query starts retrieving them after having retrieved the users? the query response will be not consistent.
I’ve seen how to batch the queries in relations, but still it is not one and is not applicable to all cases.

Same applies for mutations.

I’ve not found any reference to this case, so maybe I’ve overlooked/missed something… I’m still a newbie in graphql/Absinthe :slight_smile:

1 Like

for now I just got my copy of the pragprog book let’s see if some idea pops up

I am not sure of that because graphQL can serve as entry point to many different sources. There would be no transaction between info coming from different apis.

And if it is in the same db, somehow You will load the parent and associations with ecto, at the same time, and subscribe to get changes.

Well, maybe?

If the data is coming from different contexts I agree that there’s no transaction info and no need for it, probably.
Said that, I may want to isolate in transaction different paths of the tree (in different transactions of course).

My question was for a “top level” transaction, but applies also to isolating different paths in different transactions, depending on the business logic.

About the associations, well if your context data may not be associated in ecto… because the db structure is different from the user facing structure so the ecto associations tricks may not apply at all.