Can simple algebraic expression be used in type spec? Alternative options?

I am fairly new to Erlang and Elixir. Please excuse my ignorance. I have found function specification documentation to be slightly lacking, and the error message I am receiving to be missleading. Given function declaration:

def my_function(a,n) when a in 1..10 and
                                            n in 1..10 and
                                            a + n <= 10 

I believe the type spec could be written similar to:

@spec my_function(a, n) :: {:ok, data} | {:error, error}
        when a: [1..10],
                  n: [1..10],
                  a + n <= 10 #Compilation error invalid syntax before "a" on this line

Can algebraic expressions be used to suggest limits of data values be include in function specifications? The error message seems to indicate the error is before “a”, but when I remove the last line and the last comma in second to last line it works just fine. Is this a valid error message?

The only solution I have come up with is create an additional private function to evaluate the result of a+b is within the valid range. I want the function specification to be exposed in documentation for the user interface for the public api of the library I am working on (I don’t mind adding additional comments, but feel like it should be unnecissary especially if it can be included in specification). Please provide syntax or suggestions on how this is typically solved in elixir (using best practices).

Thanks!

You can’t express the limitation that the sum of a and n has to be less than or equal to 10 in a type. You can’t apply functions in types/specs in general.

You can enforce this rule via guards (which you already did) and you should document it. Perhaps even with a dedicated return value?

3 Likes