Can someone explain CAP simply?

So I am familiar with the theorem, but every example I read always just feels vague about what exactly a partition is or (practically) what it means if something is available, etc. It’s like everything I read uses the terms they’re trying to explain to describe itself.

Specifically I’m wondering the difference between the following in terms of the databases that fall into the category (like I’m not sure where Mnesia sits)…

• AP
  • AC
  • CP

(in real terms, like what might I expect under different conditions? whats a real world scenario where something can happen on one system but not another)?

I did a video on my channel about it last week https://youtu.be/4cLY8gNGzbo

2 Likes

even though i studied systems I am no expert by any means, but I will give it a shot

what exactly a partition

partition in cap theorem does not refer to database partition or hard drive partition it is network partition imagine you have 10 node cluster and 2 nodes which are no longer able to connect to other nodes for some reason so that is partition in simple terms.

• AP → a system which is available in presence of network partition but won’t be consistent
  • AC → a system which is consistent and available in presence of network partition as long as there is no network partition
  • CP → a system which is consistent but might not always be available

Shouldn’t that be “consistent and available as long as there is no network partition”?
As far as I remember, the CAP theorem can be boiled down to the choice between consistency and availability in presence of a network partition.

2 Likes

Yes, it should.

Maybe not quite helpful, but I find this picture funny (from "A Critique of the CAP Theorem")

3 Likes

That is indeed funny! :smile:

My explanation would be as follows:

Whenever a network partition occurs, you have to make a choice how to handle this situation: