Can we discuss app architecture and optimisation etc?

Hey all,

I’m wondering if we can discuss questions like:

• when to make an app ‘just an app’ or an umbrella app?

• when to make something a plug?

• when to use/not use atoms (as a noob I see their benefits when writing code but read people warning to avoid some uses due to their persisting in an ‘atom table’.

• etc - other parts of Phoenix |> Elixir | OTP ecosystem.

in terms of:

being able to separate concerns for:

1. scaling - horizontally and vertically

2. stopping/starting processes - eg backup, maintenance

3. speed eg what does Phoenix take care of and what must we take cafe of eg when to use/not use atoms

4. maintainability - easy of reading/editing code - perhaps when to use ‘hot swappable code’?

And perhaps in the context of different use cases so we can refer back to them eg how to architect sessions/auth as an app or plug or mix of so signups/signing in could be turned off temporarily for unscheduled maintenance while allowing existing signed in users to continue to use the app, and whatever common/outlier use cases this community has?

2 Likes

There is a hard limit of 1,048,576 and atoms are not garbage collected so you do not want things converted to atoms when dealing with user input or places where you are likely to hit the limit.

3 Likes

Discussion is great but you should know there are great resources that touch on some of these topics:

• Elixir in Action
  • Designing for Scalability with Erlang/OTP
  • The official docs
  • Elixir conference talks

Yes, true - I have been reading Elixir in Action, The Little Elixir and OTP Guidebook, and other books, as well as reading the official docs, watching Elixir conference talks on Youtube…