Can you help me understand how to implement NimbleParsec error handling?

I am writing a parser using NimbleParsec. Although I am relatively new to Elixir and parser combinators I’m finding it mostly easy to get started with, although the documentation seems… sparse… and have a mostly working parser.

However I am completely at sea in terms of error handling. Most of the time when the parser fails, no matter where the problem is, I get a single unhelpful message about expecting an end-brace at the top-level. The line/byte-offset information is not very intelligible (In my experience there is no information about column). My attempts to use labels seem to obscure rather than helping. In short, I have no clue how I am meant to implement user-intelligible error handling into my parser.

I’m going through every parser I can find on Github (about 20 so far) and, as yet, I have found no/minimal evidence of any error handling. I want to put the tool that uses this parser into the hands of users so I can’t leave it as it is.

Can anyone point to any documentation on this topic or any examples of a NimbleParsec parser that does a reasonable good job of printing out the line & column pointing to the offending token and comprehensible explanation of what is wrong & what was expected?

Many thanks in advance.

Matt

4 Likes

I am actually finding the error reporting to be misleading. I’m perfectly willing to believe that it’s me that is the problem but, for example, I have a rule:

attributes =
    ignore(string("@{"))
    |> concat(attribute)
    |> repeat(
      ignore(whitespace)
      |> ignore(string(","))
      |> ignore(whitespace)
      |> concat(attribute)
    )
    |> ignore(cbrace)
    |> reduce({:reduce_args, []})
    |> label("attributes")

You will notice that you must define at least one attribute. An example where it is used is here:

scene =
    string("Scene")
    |> replace(:scene)
    |> ignore(whitespace)
    |> concat(id)
    |> ignore(whitespace)