Cannot allocate 441485240 bytes of memory (of type "old_heap")

hi, i am following this tutorial , but when run the MIX_ENV=prod mix phoenix.digest getting error like follow what mistake i made

Generated comeonin app
==> sweet_xml
Compiling 1 file (.ex)
Generated sweet_xml app  
==> ex_phone_number
Compiling 21 files (.ex)
Compiling lib/ex_phone_number/metadata.ex (it's taking more than 10s)
Crash dump is being written to: erl_crash.dump...done
eheap_alloc: Cannot allocate 441485240 bytes of memory (of type "old_heap").
1 Like

How much memory has the machine you are trying this? Do you have any ulimits regarding memory consumption set?

The message basically means that the BEAM wasn’t able to request more memory from the operating system.

I am new to aws, when i run free -m

results:

total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:           993        136        856          0          8         41
-/+ buffers/cache:         86        906
Swap:            0          0          0

when i run df -h

Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs        489M   56K  488M   1% /dev
 tmpfs           497M     0  497M   0% /dev/shm
 /dev/xvda1      7.8G  2.5G  5.2G  33% /

how to resolve this?

That’s it. Your machine has about a singe GiB of ram, ~850 MiB of it are currently available. So your message in the OP said it wasn’t able to allocate about 400 MiB. Taking into account that there might have been other processes taking up memory as well and also stuff in the bin_heap, I can say for sure, that your machine has not enough memory to build at least that library ex_phone_number.

Try to build your application locally into a release, embed the ERTS and deploy the archive.