Choosing Elixir for the right reasons

Hi all, I’m hoping to sanity check with the community here whether choosing Elixir/Phoenix for my a single man start up project makes reasonable sense.

I’m looking to write an Elixir API backend to support a mobile app. It’s nothing fancy; just a bunch of CRUD work. I have a lot of experience doing this kind of work in Ruby/Rails but doing it in Elixir/Phoenix will be my first.

One of my gripes with Ruby happens to be with things like OAuth where you are trying to exchange auth code for a token inside of a Rails request. Doing this forces Rails to start queuing other requests leading to APDEX reduction.

I’m not saying Ruby is bad and I’m aware of the different strategies that avoids this but my point is out of the box this isn’t a simple thing to do in Ruby. It seems to me that Elixir can handle this pretty nicely since Phoenix kicks off a new process per request and the lightweight nature of them means if they take 10 seconds to complete, the rest of the app will continue to service requests just fine when in Ruby/Rails service will quickly become slow with a few more requests.

Additionally, I’m poor and don’t want to throw a lot of cash to buy a beefy hosting environment. So the thinking is to run Elixirs on an economical hosting environment such as a $5 droplet. Obviously hosting resources are finite and the beefiest of them can reach capacity under enough load but that’s unlikely for what this is and if I see a lot of traffic that would be an indication of success and a cue for more investment.

Anyway, I’m curious to hear what problems one should anticipate when running Phoenix apps (Dockerised) on a modest hosting environment?

1 Like

As always - IO congestion. In most cases the CPU shouldn’t be a problem, and if so, it is quite easy to scale vertically that (to the extent), but when you hit IO boundary, then a little can be done except scaling horizontally.