CI/CD Providers - Feedback/Experience/Recommendation

Hi,

Q:
I would like to start using a CI provider for a couple of Phoenix projects I have in mind and was wondering if anyone has any experience of using a CI provider with Phoenix that they would be willing to share?

Background:
I’ve never done any CI before, and I guess it may be overkill for a single ‘hobbyist’ developer like myself but I have a couple of reasons for wanting to go down this route:

1. The projects I have in mind have the potential to grow to requiring additional developers, and so I would like to prepare now in order to have a good understanding, and first hand experience, of the CI/CD landscape should it be required if the projects are successful.
  2. I’m selling my non-I.T. related business and would like to look for some Dev work at some point. Therefore, I would like to add some CI experience to my toolkit.

I have taken a brief look at CircleCI over the weekend and will be looking at the other options available as my time allows.

I’ve heard good things about CircleCI but I’ve been through their forums and there seems to be a lot of unanswered questions, so not sure how helpful they and their community are, especially for noobs like myself. Their ‘hello world’ intro doesn’t seem to work as per their docs either, although I will be taking another look. There also seems to be some confusion among their community about the available plans that isn’t being clarified. All in all I’m a little disappointed with what I’ve seen. Appologies to CircleCI if any of my comments are inaccurate or just plain wrong, this is just my first impression, I will come back and update this should that impression change.

I will be using Cypress and Percy for E2E testing along with the normal unit and integration tests for Phoenix and Elm.

Any experience/advice that anyone can share regarding this topic is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

1 Like

Personally I’ve only used 3 services so far:

• travis-ci