CLDR and country calling codes / telephone codes

I create this new thread for a discussion that had started in another thread where we went off-topic:

thojanssens1

So I’m new to CLDR and I’ve seen on the website that the database contains telephone codes:
CLDR Features - CLDR - Unicode Common Locale Data Repository (under country information, last bullet point).
However there’s no way to retrieve a country calling code with ex_cldr and its friends?
I guess this should be in cldr_territories but it’s not included.

kip

CLDR has deprecated telephone code data so it hasn’t been included in any ex_cldr or related library to my knowledge.
Depending on your requirements you might find ex_phone_number meets your needs. If you’re after a wrapper for Google’s libphonenumber which is the canonical library for parsing, formatting, and validating international phone numbers you might find elibphonenumber closer to your requirement although it is a NIF so has a more complex build process.
Lastly, if none of these meets your needs, let me know what the use case is - its an interesting topic (like postal codes) but just not currently top of my list of things to do.

@kip I can share you the use case, when asking for a phone number, I ask the user the country calling code and the number separately, with two fields, e.g. <+32> <454134387>.

The mapping between an iso country code (“BE”) and the country calling code (“32”) and the country calling codes list are interesting for two cases for me:

1. pre-fill the country calling code field according to the user’s location
    => map “BE” to “+32”
  2. validate that the filled country calling code exists (changeset validation)
    => find in list of country calling codes

We will publish a small library to get this mapping and this list, but we do not want to re-invent the wheel if this had been done in CLDR. You already answered this list is not supported.