Clustering mnesia with libcluster Gossip strategy

I am new to mnesia and I am trying to create a cluster with libcluster Gossip strategy. It works fine, the nodes auto-connect.
Now I need to also connect the mnesia databases, but I encountered this problem.

1. If a new node creates it’s own schema(database) with it’s own data, I cannot add it to the cluster because I cannot change the :extra_db_nodes because the schema cookie doesn’t match. Event it’s the same table structure.
  2. Also do yo have any suggestion about how should I deal with a network split? The network split happens, the offline node is changing the same row as the cluster and then I get an inconsistent database event. I theory I can use :rpc calls to backup the data on the splitted node (which is now online) and then restore it. but I couldn’t find any any to solve the conflict with custom code, deciding per row and not just chose between the cluster and the splitted node(the one that was offline for a while)
    Regarding 1. I saw Mnesiac but It won’t work with Gossip strategy.

Can those 2 points be even solved in mnesia?

1 Like

Welcome to the forum :slightly_smiling_face:

• If a new node creates it’s own schema(database) with it’s own data, I cannot add it to the cluster because I cannot change the :extra_db_nodes because the schema cookie doesn’t match. Event it’s the same table structure.

Do you create the schema separately on each node? Judging by the docs you need to initialize it once with all nodes you want to cluster given in it. The User Guide does it the same way

Also do yo have any suggestion about how should I deal with a network split? The network split happens, the offline node is changing the same row as the cluster and then I get an inconsistent database event.

I see a few options:

• you can use the majority options to tell mnesia to only allow updates to succeed when you have a majority of nodes.