Colorify: a small library converts binary to hex colors for css

Hello Elixirians,
I have wrote a very small package to convert binaries into hex colors. please have a look at the code ( https://github.com/murtza/colorify ) and let me know, how i can improve this. i have plans to support other color formats as well. i.e hsl, rgb, rgba etc

I’m into code since more than 17 years. i am following elixir since July 2014 but this is my first try to contribute back to community. if everything goes well, i have plans to write more packages.

thanks you all.

6 Likes

Besides if the comments I already gave inline, I think you should make more clear that it does not translate strings into colors but creates a hash that can be used as RGB color value in CSS or HTML.

1 Like

i have made changes according to your valuable comments. Yeah it can be used to generate colors for css and html. i will update the README in a while. Thanks for the feedback.

Hi @murtza

It is so useful
Btw, i dont feel like installing a hex package for that!
Its more like a Gist to me

Thank you

1 Like

Eh, a hex package is best for it, that way updates and fixes are centralized instead of copying in to N number of projects.

2 Likes

Off topic
I do like packages and DRY but with this mindset you end up with the npm community and left-pad :wink:

Sometimes it’s better to have the code in your project so you can see what it does, update it and so on. Sure with a package you get bug fixes, but new bugs are also introduced when you update the packages. Perhaps the project adds a bunch of new features that you don’t even need and that introduces new bugs in the features you actually care about. If it’s a large project it may be worth it because it would cost you a significant amount of money and time to create the functionality yourself.

I’d rather have 10 lines of code duplicated in a few projects than too many external dependencies.

On topic: