Combining Broadway and Oban for SQS heavy message processing

Hello everyone! I’m new to Elixir and this is my first post here.

I’m currently developing a web application that requires processing of messages from a single AWS SQS queue. The queue contains two types of messages: fast messages that need to be processed quickly, and slow messages that can wait. The fast messages make up 95% of the queue, while the slow messages are only 5%. Processing the fast messages is simple: I just need to extract some data from the notifications and store them in a database. On the other hand, processing the slow messages requires a lot of computation and IO resources, but it doesn’t need to be done in almost-realtime.

Currently, I’m using BroadwaySQS.Producer to receive messages from AWS SQS and process the fast messages. For the slow messages, I plan to receive them in the same Broadway pipeline and create a job for each one using Oban. This way, the slow messages can be delegated to Oban as jobs that can be processed later. I’ll be using the free version of Oban.

Do you see any issues with integrating Broadway pipelines with Oban jobs? Or is it possible to solve this problem using only Broadway?

Happy coding! :slight_smile:

1 Like

My first instinct is why bring in Oban, if you can use tasks and let deletion from sqs queue to determine whether something is complete or needs a retry. I am unsure if my assumptions about sqs queues and deletion are correct.

I want to ensure that even if the whole app crashes or the server needs a reboot, those slow messages/jobs don’t get lost. However, I also want to remove them from the queue quickly because fast messages are altering the database and displaying content on the user interface (using Phoenix/LiveView).