Concepts of MVC

I’m studying Phoenix Framework but I want to understand basics first. Which book/mooc explains better the Design of Network-based Software Architectures (concepts like : MVC, TCP, HTTP, AJAX, REST, API etc) ?
I have trouble understanding how do the connections between the model , the controller and the view work, and also between the web server and the user.

Any resources to understand this from scratch ?

1 Like

Those are many topics, and you could spend years digging into them, you’ll need to find a balance between going too deep and knowning enough to keep moving.

I totally understand your inquietude. When I started doing web in 2000 the company I was working for used the Java abstraction for web development. Since everything was accessible as abstraccions, (GET/POST, sessions, etc.), I had the feeling of not understanding what was going on. In my case, the solution was to study CGI with Perl. There, you are naked, you are forced to get familiar with the basics.

TCP is the more low level of the set. When a user connects to your service a ton of things happen in between. One possible resource there is “Computer Networds and Internets”, by Douglas E. Comer. Spend a couple of months reading that book from cover to cover, and you’ll be a different developer.

The next level is HTTP, that is text that travels in the communication channel established with TCP, and that both parts speak to understand each other. A protocol. Version 2 of HTTP is not plain text, but I recommend you to understand 1.1 first. For that, and to understand REST too, “RESTful Web Services”, by Leonard Richardson & Sam Ruby, is an excellent resource.

AJAX allows JavaScript in the browser to do HTTP calls to the server the same way you can do HTTP calls with Elixir or any other programming language (or curl, wget, etc., any client). I read some books on AJAX in the past, but this is not a huge topic, any book or online tutorial will do.