Connect ecto to SAP HANA by means of odbc / jdbc fdw

Good day!

Does anyone of you have any experience with hooking up elixir with or without ecto to SAP HANA ˋdirectlyˋ or over Postgresql fdw to SAP Hana? I am working on a liveview frontend would be awesome if I could consume the data from our HANA Datawarehouse.

If yes, how does that work performance wise? And in general? I am now working with mongodb…

Your help is much appreciated. Thank you for reading.

Hi @tschnibo

I have not yet connected to SAP HANA, but I have some knowledge using ODBC with Elixir because I need to connect to a rather esotheric DB over ODBC for a customer.

What I did was to patch up https://github.com/findmypast-oss/mssqlex as “ODBX”, which is as of yet ugly enough to not publish it… nevertheless: that is a starting point.

I also started implementing the Ecto adapter for this driver and got it somewhat working but decided that it’s not worth it to use Ecto, since we have no use for migrations in this specific project.

That’s why we simply use a patched version of https://github.com/lpil/yesql by the dear community member @lpil :slight_smile:
To use it we only had to patch in the aforementioned ODBX driver and make some adjustments on how we receive results. The benefit is that we can simply write the SQL dialect our database needs while avoiding injection attacks. This freed us from having to maintain our own Ecto DSL mapping.

To the other questions: ODBC has a decent performance. erlang_odbc is hands down the best ODBC implementation I came across, which is mainly the reason we went with Elixir in that project. Although we found the connection to be somewhat brittle if you do lots and lots of parallel requests (this might still be a problem in our driver, actually).

Apart from that: the hardest part was really to figure out how to properly setup unixODBC.