Connecting multiple Raspberry Pi Zeros on a local wired network

Hello! Nerves/Elixir newbie here. I am trying to connect several Nerves devices on a local wired network without any sort of DHCP server, instead using an ethernet switch, with each device having a static IP address. Ideally severally of these devices would be R.Pi Zeros. Is it possible to use a microUSB-to-Ethernet adapter with Nerves on an R.Pi Zero? And if so, would the interface be usb0 or eth0? Would nerves_network be the way to go, or is something like VintageNet more appropriate? Or am I wasting my time trying to get the Zeros to work? If I have to, I will switch to using R.Pi 3Bs, but I would much prefer the form factor of Zeros.

Thanks in advance for any help/suggestions!

1 Like

Sorry for the late response, but I wanted to post in case others came across this. It’s a good question.

First off, VintageNet is the way to go for all network now in my opinion. If nothing else, the maintainers of NervesNetwork have mostly moved on to VintageNet themselves and it’s easier for us to support.

Nerves has two official systems for the Raspberry Pi Zero. nerves_system_rpi0 is the one most people use. It sets up the RPi0’s one USB port into gadget mode so that you can connect it to a development machine and ssh in. nerves_system_rpi (no 0) also works on the Raspberry Pi Zero. It configures the USB port to host mode. That makes it possible to use a microUSB-to-Ethernet adapter with one caveat. The Linux device driver for your microUSB-to-Ethernet adapter will need to be added. The usual way of doing this is to figure out what driver gets used by plugging the adapter into a desktop Linux system and then creating a custom Nerves system with that driver loaded.