Connection to AS400 with Ecto

Hello all,
I’m a complete newbie to Elixir (for now I never wrote down a row in Elixir).
I have to complete an easy job and I would like to try Elixir.

I have to connect to an AS400, to dump some tables and to transform them in a Json structure.

What an occasion to try some easy programming with Elixir!

I’m here to ask you, please, some help.

I already put in place a DNS odbc connection to the AS400 in a Debian machine (via unixodbc package and the AS400 drivers).
The connection works fine and the AS400 server responds.
I could realize the script in any language I know (Java, PHP, Perl). But I would try with Elixir.

The first question is this one:
how can I query the AS400 via Ecto?
Is there any specific drivers or language lbraries to use with ODBC connections?

Thank you in advance for your help
(and just in case, sorry for my grammar errors: I’m not an English native speaker).

Hi, I don’t think that there’s a native db/2 client to use with ecto. You could try the erlang odbc driver though I haven’t got any experience with it and you’ll also probably need to write connection pooling logic yourself

Thank you for your answer.

Unlikely ( being a beginner :wink: ) I don’t have any idea about how to call an Erlang module from inside Elixir.
Please can you point about some learning resources explaining the possibility to have Erlang modules inside Elixir?

In addition I found this resource in which the author explain how to handle a SQL Server connection via odbc (unlikely not a db2 case here):

Could this resource be useful for me in some way?

To be clear: my intent is to try Elixir programming with some easy task (in this case read some tables from a db and generate some JSON files), but I wouldn’t put myself in difficulties due to lack of db drivers or similarities.

Thank you in advance for your answers!