Consuming an API that connects via TCP connection

I’m looking at a potential project where an entry system for a premises has a “push notifications API” for people entering an establishment.

The system can be enabled to POST the entry “event” to a third party system upon its completion. The documentation is vague at present, but, it does involve the system connecting to the third party via a “TCP Socket”. The data sent includes a binary of a jpeg of the person entering / using the system. From the docs.

" When pushing a notification, a terminal establishes a socket connection with the subscriber by using the IP address and port, and then sends records. After sending, the terminal closes the connection if short connection is used, and keeps keep-alive connection."

I have zero experience with an API sending data over a TCP socket, and my Google Fu is eluding me on this one.

Does anyone have experience of the best way to approach this in a Phoenix/Elixir app?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Usually there should be a documented line protocol that defines what kinds of bits and bytes you send across the wire, and in what order, to indicate various intents. It might be a custom binary format, something like Protobufs, line-separated JSON, etc. There are all kinds of answers there and they all get handled a little differently. I think only the vendor you’re trying to integrate with can answer the initial part of this question for you.

2 Likes

thanks @shanesveller, I’ll definitely be seeking out more documentation.

I guess I also need to open a TCP port on the app to listen to the incoming api calls?

:gen_tcp erlang module is useful for this. I’ve written several tcp protocols using it, it’s not terrible.

2 Likes